provincial program of generalized public health services is administered through seven local health divisions; the City of Halifax operates its own Health Department. Each division is staffed by public health nurses and sanitary inspectors under the supervision of a full-time divisional medical health officer.

Laboratory services, including bacteriological and other examinations and milk and water analyses, have been improved and extended through the work of the Provincial Central Laboratory at Halifax and branch laboratories at Sydney and Kentville. Laboratory tests and field investigations are also conducted by the Industrial Hygiene Division. Streptomycin for tuberculosis and penicillin for venereal disease cases are provided free by the Province.

Three mobile dental clinics provide treatment for children in rural areas; field psychiatrists provide mental guidance and consultant services in two regions and mobile chest X-ray units provide diagnostic services for tuberculosis. At Halifax, the Province operates a psychiatric ward and out-patient psychiatric service, a cancer clinic and a Kenny treatment clinic for poliomyelitis, all at the Victoria General Hospital.

Five provincially owned hospitals are operated under the direction of the Department—Victoria General Hospital, the Nova Scotia Hospital for mental illness, and three tuberculosis sanatoria. All treatment for tuberculosis and treatment for mental illness in the Nova Scotia Hospital is given without charge.

All approved hospitals receive a provincial per diem subsidy for each patient. Old-age and blind pensioners and recipients of mothers' allowances are eligible for limited medical services administered by agreement with Maritime Medical Care Incorporated, including home and office calls but excluding surgery, drugs and medical aids or appliances.

New Brunswick.—The Health Branch of the Department of Health and Social Services includes the following Divisions: Hospital Services and Cancer Diagnostic Clinics, Laboratories, Public Health Nursing, Communicable and Venereal Disease Control, Tuberculosis Control, Maternal and Child Health, Mental Health and Sanitary Engineering.

Medical health officers and some public health nurses are employed by the Province while other local health services are provided through 16 local sub-districts, each corresponding to a county and each having a board of health composed of members appointed by municipal councils. Responsibility for the various local public health functions is divided between the Province and the boards of health. Usually from three to five sub-districts are serviced by a district medical health officer assisted by public health nurses. In some cases, locally administered nursing services are subsidized by the Province.

Pathological, bacteriological, serological and chemical tests are provided by the Provincial Laboratories which also supervise the distribution of vaccines, sera and bacteriologicals, including free immunizing agents, drugs for venereal diseases and insulin for indigent diabetics through the Central Laboratory at Saint John and a branch laboratory at Fredericton. A Mobile Hygiene Laboratory conducts milk and water analyses during the summer months.

Free X-ray and diagnostic services for tuberculosis are provided at eight clinics in larger centres and pneumothorax treatment for convalescent tuberculosis patients is supplied by the Province through payment of physicians' fees. The Health Department supervises and provides free treatment and care in three privately